Alt J Win 2012 Mercury Music Prize
02 Nov 2012
Alt J Win 2012 Mercury Music Prize
Alt-J have won this year's respected Mercury Music Prize. The winner was announced last night at The Roundhouse, north London.

BBC Radio 6 radio DJ Lauren Laverne and Radio One’s new Breakfast show Nick Grimshaw hosted the event, which saw indie band Alt-J receive the Mercury Music Prize accolade and £20,000 for their album ‘An Awesome Wave’.

The other nominees on the night included: Ben Howard 'Every Kingdom', Django Django 'Django Django', Field Music ‘Plumb’, Jessie Ware ‘Devotion’,Lianne La Havas ‘Is Your Love Big Enough?’, Michael Kiwanuka ‘Home Again’, The Maccabees ‘Given to the Wild’, Plan B ‘Ill Manors’, Richard Hawley ‘Standing at the Sky’s Edge’, Roller Trio ‘Roller Trio’ and Sam Lee ‘Ground of its Own’.

BBC News reported that the Leeds four-piece jokingly “thanked their parents for not making us get jobs.”

You can see Alt-J on the rest of their 2012 tour and also get tickets for their 2013 tour:|

November 2012
O2 Academy Oxford, Fri 2nd November 2012
Trinity, Bristol, Sat 3rd November 2012
Concorde 2, Sun 4th November 2012
Electric Ballroom, London Monday 5th November 2012

January 2013
Shepherds Bush Empire, London, Fri 18th Jan 2013
Shepherds Bush Empire, London, Sat 19th Jan 2013

May 2013
Dublin, Olympia Theatre, Fri 3rd May 2013
Birmingham, O2 Academy, Sun 5th May 2013
Glasgow, O2 ABC, Mon 6th May 2013
Newcastle Upon Tyne, O2 Academy, Wed 8th May 2013
Leeds, O2 Academy, Fri 10th May 2013
Liverpool, O2 Academy, Sat 11th May 2013
Nottingham, Rock City. Mon 13th May 2013
Cambridge, Corn Exchange, Tue14th May 2013
Bristol, O2 Academy, Wed 15th May 2013
Brixton, O2 Academy, Thu 16th May 2013
Brixton, O2 Academy, Fri 17th May 2013

Get your tickets for Alt-J tickets on Ticketmaster’s GET ME IN! ticket market.